News and Events

April 7, 2017

Here's the schedule for Holy Week and Pascha:

Fri., Apr. 7, Annunciation

6:00 p.m.: Divine Liturgy of St John Chrysostom

Sat., Apr. 8, Lazarus Saturday

10:00 a.m.: Divine Liturgy of St John Chrysostom
6:00 p.m.: Vigil of Palm Sunday

Sun., Apr. 9, Palm Sunday

10:00 a.m.: Hours, Divine Liturgy of St John Chrysostom
7 p.m.: Bridegroom Matins

Mon., Apr. 10

7 p.m.: Bridegroom Matins

Tue., Apr. 11

7 p.m.: Bridegroom Matins

Wed., Apr. 12

7:00 p.m.: Service of Holy Unction

Thur., Apr. 13, Commemoration of Last Supper

10:00 a.m.: Hours and Divine Liturgy of St Basil
7:00 p.m.: The Twelve Passion Gospels

Fri., Apr. 14, Great and Holy Friday

2:00 p.m.: Vespers
7:00 p.m.: Epitaphios

Sat., Apr. 15

10:00 a.m.: Hours and Divine Liturgy of St Basil + Blessing of food baskets + Confessions
11:00 p.m.: RESURRECTION (PASCHA) + Blessing of food baskets

CHRIST IS RISEN!

Civic Calendar with Service Schedule

Year 2017
April
 Mon  Tue  Wed  Thu  Fri  Sat  Sun 
     01
Great Vespers 6:00pm
02
St. Mary of Egypt
Hours, Liturgy of St.Basil 10:00am
0304050607
Annunciation
Hours, Liturgy 6:00pm
08
Lazarus Saturday
Hours, Liturgy 10:00am

Vigil of Palm Sunday 6:00pm
09
Palm Sunday
Hours, Liturgy 10:00am

Bridegroom Matins 7:00pm
10
Great and Holy Monday
Bridegroom Matins 7:00pm
11
Great and Holy Tuesday
Bridegroom Matins 7:00pm
12
Great and Holy Wednesday
Holy Anointing 7:00pm
13
Great and Holy Thursday
Hours, Liturgy of the Last Supper 10:00am

The 12 Passion Gospels 7:00pm
14
Great and Holy Friday
Vespers (Deposition from the Cross) 2:00pm

Epitaphios 7:00pm
15
Great and Holy Saturday
Hours, Liturgy of St.Basil, Blessing of Food, Confessions 10:00am

Pascha: CHRIST IS RISEN!
Burial Canon of Great Saturday, Matins of the Resurrection, Liturgy, Blessing of Food, Parish potluck 11:00pm
16
Pascha: CHRIST IS RISEN!
171819202122
Vespers 6:00pm
23
Hours, Liturgy 10:00am
242526272829
Vespers 6:00pm
30
Hours, Liturgy 10:00am

Sundays and major feasts are in red. Fast days are shaded.

March 23, 2017

St. John Climacus

Sat Mar 25: Great Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Mar 26: Hours, Divine Liturgy of St Basil, coffee hour 10 am

Wed., Mar. 29: Matins with the Great Canon of St Andrew of Crete 6:00 pm

Fri., Mar. 31: Akathist to the Mother of God 6:00 pm

St. Mary of Egypt

Sat Apr 1: Great Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Apr 2: Hours, Divine Liturgy of St Basil, coffee hour 10 am

March 11, 2017

St. Gregory Palamas

Sat Mar 11: Great Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Mar 12: Hours, Divine Liturgy of St Basil, coffee hour 10 am

If you want to be at church for the correct time on Sunday, remember to set your clocks forward one hour Sat night.

Wed Mar. 15: Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts 6pm

Adoration of the Holy Cross

Sat Mar 18: Great Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Mar 19: Hours, Divine Liturgy of St Basil, coffee hour 10 am

February 24, 2017

Cheesefare Sunday - Forgiveness Sunday

Sat Feb 25: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Feb 26: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour, Forgiveness Sunday Vespers 10 am

1st week of Lent:

Mon Feb. 27: 6:00 p.m. Great Compline & Great Canon I
Tue Feb. 28: 6:00 p.m. Great Compline & Great Canon II
Wed Mar. 1: 6:00 p.m. Great Compline & Great Canon III
Thur Mar. 2: 6:00 p.m. Great Compline & Great Canon IV

February 10, 2017

Glory to Jesus Christ! Glory forever!

Sat Feb 11: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Feb 12: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour 10 am

Meeting of the Lord

Tue Feb 14: Vespers and Liturgy are CANCELLED. Fr Alexander is unable to serve due to illness and roads are still in poor condition and buses aren't running before 5pm. As a result, we have to cancel the service for tonight. Please pray for Fr Alexander, Fr Vladimir and all those in the parish who are suffering from colds and flu. Stay safe while shovelling and if you have to drive today, be careful!

February 4, 2017

Sat Feb 4: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Feb 5: Hours, Liturgy 10:00 am

January 19, 2017

This weekend, our archbishop will be visiting. Schedule is as follows:

Sat Jan 21: Vespers followed by potluck meal 6:00 pm
Sun Jan 22: Hours, Liturgy, potluck meal 10:00 am

During the meals, parishioners will have the opportunity to meet and talk with Archbishop Irenee.

January 12, 2017

Christ is born! Glorify Him!

Sat Jan 14: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Jan 15: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour 10:00 am

Theophany of our Lord, God and Saviour Jesus Christ

Wed Jan 18: Divine Liturgy of St Basil with the Blessing of the Waters

His Grace, Bishop Irenee, will be visiting us the weekend of Jan 21-22. Further details to come.

January 5, 2017

Nativity of our Lord, God and Saviour Jesus Christ:

Friday, Jan 6: Vigil and Liturgy 9:00 pm followed by potluck meal. Please bring a dish or beverages.

No service Saturday, Jan 7

Sun Jan 8: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour 10:00 am

2017 Parish Calendars are for sale, $10 each. Both English only and English+Russian versions are available.

Archive

St.Vladimir Orthodox Church, 625 Purcell's Cove Road, Halifax NS, (902) 982-3759

Home * Parish * Capital Campaign * News & Events * Services * Sermons * Photos * Location * Links * Contact * Our facebook page Facebook