News and Events

April 20, 2014

Christ is Risen! Христос Воскресе!

Paschal Newsletter

Civic Calendar with Service Schedule

Year 2014
April
 Mon  Tue  Wed  Thu  Fri  Sat  Sun 
 0102
Penitential Canon of St Andrew of Crete 6:00pm
0304
Full Akathist (RS) 6:00pm
05
Vespers 6:00pm
06
St. Mary of Egypt
Hours, Liturgy 10:00am
Great Vespers 6:00pm
07
Annunciation
Liturgy in the Hermitage (New Germany) 10:00am
08091011
Readers Vespers 6:00pm
12
Lazarus Saturday
Typica 10:30am
Vigil of Palm Sunday 6:00pm
13
Palm Sunday
Hours, Liturgy 10:00am
Bridegroom Matins 7:00pm
14
Great and Holy Monday
Bridegroom Matins 7:00pm
15
Great and Holy Tuesday
Bridegroom Matins 7:00pm
16
Great and Holy Wednesday
Holy Anointing 7:00pm
17
Great and Holy Thursday
Hours, Liturgy of the Last Supper 10:30am
The 12 Passion Gospels 7:00pm
18
Great and Holy Friday
Vespers (Deposition from the Cross) 2:00pm
Lamentations 7:00pm
19
Great and Holy Saturday
Burial Canon of Great Saturday, Matins of the Resurrection, Liturgy 11:00pm
20
Pascha
212223
Readers Vespers 6:00pm
242526
Vespers 6:00pm
27
Hours, Liturgy 10:00am
282930
Readers Vespers 6:00pm
    

Sundays and major feasts are in red. Fast days are shaded.

April 7, 2014

Fri Apr 11 - Readers Vespers for Lazarus Saturday 6:00 pm
Sat Apr 12 - Typika 10:30 am; Vespers for Palm Sunday 6:00 pm
Sunday Apr 13 - Hours, Divine Liturgy for Palm Sunday 10:00 am; Bridegroom Matins 7:00 pm
Mon Apt 14 - Bridegroom Matins 7:00 pm
Tues Apr 15 - Bridegroom Matins 7:00 pm
Wed Apr 16 - Service of Anointing 7:00 pm
Thurs Apr 17 - Hours and Liturgy for Last Supper 10:30 am; Passion Gospels 7:00 pm
Fri Apr 18 - Vespers of Great and Holy Friday 2:00 pm; Lamentations 7:00 pm
Sat Apr 19 - Vigil of Pascha 11:00 pm

If you wish to contribute towards flowers for Holy Week to decorate the church, please see Nancy.

Confessions - there is not much time left to schedule confessions with Father Vladimir, please contact him as soon as possible. Note that no confessions will be heard past the afternoon of Sat Apr 19 (Holy Saturday). Confessions are mandatory to be able to receive communion at Pascha.

April 4, 2014

Wed Apr 2: Canon of St Andrew of Crete 6:00 pm
Fri Apr 4: Akathist Service (full akathist, readers service) 6:00 pm

St. Mary of Egypt

Sat Apr 5: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Apr 6: Hours and Liturgy followed by coffee hour 10:00 pm

Annunciation

Sun Apr 6: Great Vespers 6:00 pm
Mon Apr 7: Divine Liturgy in the Hermitage of the Annunciation (New Germany), at 10am. Everyone is welcome.

Other news: The newest member of the Iremadze family, Maryam, will be baptized this weekend. Her patron saint is St. Mary of Egypt. May God grant little Maryam many, many years!

March 24, 2014

Fri Mar 28 - Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts 6:00 pm

Sunday of St. John Climacus

Sat Mar 29 - Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Mar 30 - Hours and Liturgy followed by coffee hour 10:00 am

March 22, 2014

Wed Mar 19 - Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts 6:00 pm
Fri Mar 21 - Akathist Hymn 6:00 pm

Sunday of the Precious and Life-Giving Cross

Sat Mar 22 - Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Mar 23 - Hours and Liturgy followed by coffee hour 10:00 am

March 11, 2014

Wed Mar 12: Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts 6:00 pm (note due to the weather forecast, please check your emails for updates before leaving for church)

Fri Mar 14: Akathist Hymn 6:00 pm

St Gregory Palamas

Sat Mar 15: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Mar 16: Hours and Liturgy followed by coffee hour 10:00 am

March 7, 2014

Sunday of Orthodoxy

Sat Mar 8: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Mar 9: Hours and Liturgy followed by coffee hour 10:30 am

Wed Mar 12: Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts 6:00 pm
Fri Mar 14: Akathist Hymn 6:00 pm

Invitation to join service at St. Antonios

Father Maximos and the Antiochian Orthodox parish of St. Antonios (2455 Windsor Street, Halifax, NS B3K 5B9) are inviting all of us to join the celebration of the Vespers of the Sunday of Orthodoxy, this coming Sunday, March 9, at 5:00 pm.

The Sunday of Orthodoxy is a wonderful occasion to celebrate the fullness of our unity as Orthodox Christians. It is very important for St. Vladimir's to participate in the celebration of this unity, so if you are available this Sunday evening, please come.

February 27, 2014

Cheesefare (Forgiveness) Sunday and the beginning of Lent:

Sat Mar 1: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Mar 2: Hours and Liturgy followed by Forgiveness Sunday Vespers and coffee hour 10:00 pm; Great Compline with the Penitential Canon of St. Andrew 6:00 pm

Mon Mar 3: Little Compline with Penitential Canon of St. Andrew 6:00 pm
Tues Mar 4: Little Compline with Penitential Canon of St. Andrew 6:00 pm
Wed Mar 5: Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts 6:00 pm
Thurs Mar 6: Little Compline with Penitential Canon of St. Andrew 6:00 pm
Fri Mar 7: Akathist Hymn 6:00 pm

February 21, 2014

Sat Feb 22 - Vespers 6:00 pm, followed by Panikhida
Sun Feb 23 - Hours and Liturgy, followed by coffee hour 10:00 am

Panikhida for victims of violence in Ukraine

You've probably heard on the news how the unrest in Ukraine is growing, and there have been many deaths. There will be a panikhida after Vespers this Saturday for those who have lost their lives, as well as additional prayers during services. Please pray for the restoration of peace. Вечная память! Memory eternal!

February 12, 2014

Wed Feb 12 - Readers Vespers CANCELLED

Please note that Wed vespers will be cancelled for the next few weeks. During Lent we'll have the Liturgy of Presanctified Gifts on Wednesdays. After Pascha, we'll revisit the schedule of mid-week services.

Feast of the Meeting of the Lord / Sunday of the Prodigal Son

Sat Feb 15 - Vespers 6:00 pm, followed by Panikhia for Alexander Strijak
Sun Feb 16 - due to the flash freeze warning, the services are CANCELLED.

January 27, 2014

Wed Jan 29 - Readers Vespers CANCELLED

Sat Feb 1 - Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Feb 2 - Hours and Liturgy followed by coffee hour 10:00 am

Please pray for:

  • the people of Ukraine in this time of unrest - that peace will prevail
  • for Christians under persecution around the world
  • our new deacon and his family as he takes on new responsibilities in our parish

Reminders:

Bottle drive - we continue to collect recyclables as a fund raiser for our capital fund. You can either bring your bottles to church (please rinse them and remove caps), or drop them off at a recycling depot and bring the proceeds to church (please mark bottle drive on the offering envelope so we can track it).

2014 Church calendars are for sale in the church entrance

January 21, 2014

Wed Jan 22 - Readers Vespers CANCELLED due to forecasted blizzard

Sat Jan 25 - Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Jan 26 - Hours and Liturgy followed by coffee hour 10:00 am

Many years to the newly ordained Fr. Cassian and our Fr. Dn. Alexander! Thank you to all who helped with the set-up and food over the weekend. Your assistance is greatly appreciated!

We received some news from our dear friends the Iremadze family:

"Our baby girl - Maryam Iremadze, was born January 20th at 6:36 am, healthy 3.6 kg. Maia, although exhausted, is doing well."

Please, pray for Maia and Maryam as they continue to rest and recover their energies.

New 2014 liturgical calendars are for sale in the church now. We have English only and English/Russian versions, with the same colorful backer showing our new beautiful church on Purcells Cove Rd. Suggested price is $10. To pay for a calendar, please put your money in an envelope and place it in the donation basket. Please write on the envelope for how many calendars your payment is so that we could track them separately from regular donations.

January 17, 2014

Feast of the Theophany and Visit of His Grace, Bishop Irénée:

Sat Jan 18 - Hours and Liturgy, with ordination of Fr. Cassian to the diaconate, immediately followed by Theophany Vespers and Blessing of the Waters, and potluck lunch (fasting foods) 10:00 am

If you wish to take holy water home after the blessing of the water, please bring a very clean container, preferably that's been soaked very hot, soapy water.

Sunday Jan 19 - Hours and Divine Liturgy, with ordinations of Sasha Treiger to the diaconate and Fr. Cassian to the priesthood, followed by potluck meal at Purcells Cove Social Club 505 Purcells Cove Rd.

Please keep Fr. Cassian and Sasha in your prayers as they prepare for their ordinations.

January 8, 2014

Wed Jan 8 - Vespers CANCELLED

Sat Jan 11 - Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Jan 12 - Hours and Liturgy followed by coffee hour 10:00 am (Fr.Roman)

Right after the Liturgy on Sunday, there will be a Panikhia service in memory of Alexander Strijak who died in Vancouver on Jan 7. Also, there will be a special donation backet for his family.

Collection for ordination gifts: There is a basket for a collection towards gifts for Fr Cassian and Sasha for the occassion of their ordinations. Please make a contribution if you can.

January 1, 2014

Wed Jan 1 - Vespers CANCELLED

Sat Jan 4 - Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Jan 5 - Hours and Liturgy followed by coffee hour 10:00 am

Monday, Jan 6: Baptism of Alexey Treiger 3:00 pm;
Vigil for the Nativity of our Lord 9:00 pm, followed by potluck

There are sign up sheets and the bulletin board for the Nativity meal, and for potlucks during the visit of His Grace Bishop Irénée for the feast of Theophany. Please sign up to make a contribution.

Confession: Confession during the Nativity Fast is required to be able to partake of the Eucharist at the feast. If you have not already done so, please contact Fr. Vladimir as soon as possible to schedule a confession. Saturday and Sunday will be the last opportunities. For those from outside of Halifax might be able to make alternate arrangements, please speak with Fr Vladimir to discuss your particular situation.

Parking: As you know, our parking lot is very small. For Nativity, we encourage car pooling where possible. We also ask that you park your vehicle in such a way as to allow for the most efficient use of the space. If there are no snow clearing operations, street parking is available on Fergusons Cove Rd. You can sign up for notifications from the city to know when the overnight parking ban will be enforced. Visit www.halifax.ca/snow/HRMsOvernightWinterParkingBan.php. If someone could volunteer to oversee the parking at the Nativity Vigil, that would be appreciated, please contact Nancy.

Collection for ordination gifts: There is a basket for a collection towards gifts for Fr Cassian and Sasha for the occassion of their ordinations. Please make a contribution if you can.

Archive

St.Vladimir Orthodox Church, 629 Purcell's Cove Road, Halifax NS, (902) 982-3759

Home * Parish * Capital Campaign * News & Events * Services * Sermons * Photos * Location * Links * Contact * Our facebook page Facebook